A Flower Can Grow Out Of A Road

The strength of a seed and fertility of soil can force God’s word out to the public.

My soil has been like a paved street.  It’s also been rocky and then riddled with thorny weeds. However on occasion, I’ve been a soil that’s so good to produce organic food.  I’m referring to the parable of the sower of the seeds, and how some seed (messages, news, instructions), from the sower (Jesus) were received by different people. 

This parable is found on Matthew 13: 1 – 23, which was the Gospel reading at my church’s service this weekend. The fact that I had been all soils really bothered me.

Being mentally ill, I’ve been all of them and at the end of my life, I would not be surprised to learn that I have been, all in one day.  Being bipolar, I can go from being a wannabe saint to a know it all, screaming, sinner in a second. This concept plagued my mind as the church service continued.  At points in my life, I tried my best to live a good life, while at others, my only concern was for myself.

Now, I’m Catholic, and the priest’s homily/sermon was all about the different types of people represented by the soil.  The online Catholic reflection site I use said virtually the same thing.

I kept looking because I knew I had been like a path or road, where I was easily picked away by sinful temptations.  I also had surged up with zealful aspirations in rocky terrain only to quickly quit when troubles arose.  Then grew up and gave up when I lacked the support and dislike from close confidents (aka weedy thorns)

Then late at night I found my answer on different websites.  Why would the sower or Jesus spread his seed or message to the soil or people who he knew would reject it, like the first century streets?  Also, why did Jesus hang out with prostitutes & tax collectors?

I remembered what I did right before church.  I went to confession.  For me, confession is like seeing a spiritual shrink.  This time, it reminded me that people, including myself, can change.

I wrote this months ago. It just reminds me that God doesn’t give up on me because of my past, so I cannot give up trusting God.

Personally, I wouldn’t be surprised to learn that Jesus used this parable to essentially warn his apostles, disciples, and general followers what to expect once he was gone. and when they took up preaching after him.

Leave a comment