Compliments v. Complaints

I was ready to complain to my CVS pharmacy, its company, and on social media. For six days, I tried getting an extremely important medication. On the sixth day, I would be out of my med, and therefore I was determined to switch my pharmacy and register my complaint with all of CVS.

My medicine treated my epileptic seizures, and there is one thing I fear more than anything are my seizures.  I cannot tell anyone what the terror I’ve felt.

One time, I was walking along a busy street, blacked out, collapsed for some unknown period of time, and when I regained consciousness I was strapped down to a gurney. I “came to” looking up at two paramedics and mumbled, “What’s going on?”  I was in an ambulance.

Yes, I made plans to go to whatever extreme was needed to get my meds.  It was obvious to me that my store was out of stock for my med. All I wanted was to find out if I could get my meds at the only other CVS in my city

First, I called the store and was put on hold for a half-hour. I could overhear that the store was busy. (I honestly sat on hold for 30 minutes, just so I could have something else to scream about.)  Then I tried to write an email to the company itself.  I don’t know what I did to prevent my bitchfest from going through.  My anger was on a countdown to blasting off. I know I would overreact and then the depression would start because I was an a-hole.

Regardless, I next called the 800 number to complain up a storm.

This is where the happy ending comes around.  The operator sounded very understanding and helpful. Before I even said anything about getting my med from the other store, she suggested it! She suggested what I wanted! 

I thanked this woman repeatedly and I suspect she doesn’t even know how important that it is for me. At the end of the story, I got my meds in 30 minutes. The same amount of time I planned on ranting about.

Believe me, I feel much happier writing a compliment instead of broadcasting a complaint. In negative times, giving compliments for simply doing a good job, can make everyone feel better.  Now when I get depressed, angry, or lonesome, I’ll try to compliment someone.

Leave a comment